The Grand Opening of the new instituted post home for Superstition Mountain Post 9399 was held at Ocotillo Road and the Apache Trail on November 29th, 1964. This event attracted several top Department Officers in the V.F.W. The new post was originally installed in February 1964 at the Ocotillo site. A new location was then purchased on August 19, 1965 to build a new post at 133 N. Saguaro Road and Apache Trail in Apache Junction, Arizona. The land was purchased for $22,500. The post moved to the new location, September 18th, 1965 and was honored at their Grand Opening. The 1964 Grand opening event was special, since it was historical (the first V.F.W. Post in District #4 in Apache Junction). The land was  paid off in 1968.

The membership for the Post and Ladies Auxiliary was approximately 420 members and was recorded as very active in supporting the V.F.W. Programs and the local community.

District #4 had eight (8) Ladies Auxiliaries, which were: Post 1677 Casa Grande, Post 1760 Mesa , Post 3513 Scottsdale, Post 3632 Tempe, Post 3713 Coolidge, Post 9399 Apache Junction, Post 9400 Sunnyslope, Post 9833 Deer Valley.

In 1988-89 under the State Commandership of Don Maynard, District #4 was split up and a new District was added, which was District #10 and Posts 9399, 1677, 3713, 8053, 7401 and 7968 were assigned to this newly created District. Posts 1760, 3513, 3632, 9400 and 9833 were left in District #4.

Post 9399 has been, over the years, a very progressive post and should be proud of its status in Arizona. The listed past Post Commanders and Auxiliary Presidents are as follows:

H. Wilson 1964-1965 M. Mitchell  
H. Beckell  1965-1966 R. Beckett  
P. Wood 1966-1967 E. LaMotte  
R. Morris 1967-1968 R. Beckett  
B. Cox 1968-1969 D. Schroeder  
L. Severence 1969-1970 D. Schroeder  
J. Schroeder 1970-1971 P. Curtin  
D. Harrison 1971-1972 N. Robertson  
W. Lemieux 1972-1973 H. Kelley  
L. Schooder 1973-1974 P. Curtin  
D. Roy 1974-1975 E. Brown  
D. Roy 1975-1976 E. Arthur  
D. Roy 1976-1977 E. Harrison  
D. Maynard 1977-1978 C. Wietz  
D. Maynard 1978-1979 C. Wietz  
D. Vanderberg 1979-1980 H. Kauble  
D. Roy 1980-1981 F. Navarro  
D. Skowron 1981-1982 W. Light  
D. Skowron 1982-1983 F. Navarro  
D. Skowron 1983-1984 I. Skowron  
J. Cration 1984-1985 A. Deramus  
W. Walls 1985-1986 D. Youggust  
J. Humble 1986-1987 D. Youggust  
J. Bowman 1987-1988 A. Deramus  
J. Bowman 1988-1989 Hazel Goff  
D. Maynard 1989-1990 Hazel Goff  
G. Diehl Sr. 1990-1991 T. Nephew  
G. Diehl Sr. 1991-1992 Sharon Diehl  
F. Page 1992-1993 B. Lange  
B. Rankin 1993-1994 Debi Rankin  
G. Diehl Sr. 1994-1995 Debi Rankin  
F. Page 1995-1996 Linda Page  
P. Miller 1996-1997 Hazel Goff  
P. Miller 1997-1998 Silvia Miller  
K. Falk 1998-1999 Silvia Miller  
P. Miller 1999-2000 Silvia Miller  
J. Willie 2000-2001 K. Burgener  
K. Pickett 2001-2002 K. Burgener  
K. Pickett 2002-2003 S. Klebieko Frank Cain
J. Willie 2003-2004 Linda Hoschouer Frank Cain
C. Meskis 2004-2005 Silvia Miller Ron Kill
Willard "Bud" Ross 2005-2006 Amy Timbes Ron Kill
Willard "Bud" Ross 2006-2007 Amy Timbes Jim Rice
L. Jacobson 2007-2008 Lynn Carter Jim Rice
L. Jacobson 2008-2009 Amy Timbes Jim Rice
Bob Stark 2009-2010 Amy Timbes Steve Wilde
Bob Stark 2010-2011 Amy Timbes Steve Wilde
Bob Stark 2011-2012 Patty Tomlinson Steve Wilde
Bob Stark 2012-2013 Jackie Lange Steve Wilde
Gordie Bonnell 2013-2014 Jackie Lange Steve Wilde
Gordie Bonnell/Jim Johnson 2014-2015 Bambi Johnson Dave Waggoner
Jim Johnson 2015-2016 Bambi Johnson Dave Waggoner
Jim Johnson 2016-2017 Bambi Johnson Chuck Erickson
Chuck Williams/Jim Johnson 2017-2018 Lynn Pierre (Men's Aux now part of VFW Aux)
Jim Johnson 2018-2019 Lynn Pierre  
Bob Stark/Teddy Julian 2019-2020 Lynn Pierre  
Bobby Malick 2020-2021 Lynn Pierre  




Created by Bob Rankin for 40th Anniversary - Nov. 2004

Updated: May 2020